Carriage Square Homeowners Special General Membership Meeting

October 9, 2018 Minutes

The meeting was held at 1117 Chaparral Drive.

Board members present: Mark De La Torre, Michele Stokes, Geigy Stringer, Bonnie Hoffecker, and Christy McGrew.

General membership present, as evidenced by their signatures on the Official Election Sign-In Sheet: Tish Allen, Linda and Mike Curtis, Beth Fosgate, Mary Ellen Komac, Joseph Spencer, Chris Martinovich, Dee and Lee Ramsey, Charity and Richard Sharp, and Brett Stringer. Melissa De La Torre was present for as long as Mark De La Torre was, but did not sign in.

At 7:03 p.m. Stringer, in her capacity as Election Review Committee member, requested that Mark De La Torre call the meeting to order.

In response, De La Torre asked whether the attorney whom the Election Review Committee consulted with had rendered an opinion on the legality of his election as President at the meeting of September 4, 2018. Hoffecker replied the election of the office of president that occurred on September 4, 2018 was invalid because no notice had been sent to the general membership therefor, as required by the By-Laws. On hearing that, Mark and Melissa De La Torre left the meeting.

A few members asked whether De La Torre's departure constituted his resignation or concession of the office to Stokes. Stringer said it did not, because mailed ballots that would determine the outcome (of the only contested office) had yet to be opened and counted.

In De La Torre's absence, Vice President Stokes called the meeting to order at approximately 7:05 p.m. Stokes announced that the first order of business would be a vote whether to move forward with the Special Meeting.

Member Joe Spencer objected to the proceeding on two grounds: (1) that the meeting was not properly noticed and (2) that the meeting could not proceed without a published agenda, citing both as violations of the Open Meeting Laws.

Addressing the assembly, Hoffecker read verbatim from the postcard that the Election Review Committee had mailed to the general membership 3 days prior to the meeting, in accordance with the CSHOA By-Laws and applicable Nevada Revised Statutes, and under the advisement of the HOA's attorney. It read:

"On September 27, 2018, the Board mailed to the membership an Official Mail-In Ballot and notice of a general meeting of members to be held on October 9, 2018 at 7:00 pm, at 1117 Chaparral Drive at which votes for electing a new Board will be cast and counted together with any mailed ballots. The purpose of this subsequent notice is to clarify that the October 9, 2018 meeting is a Special General Membership Meeting, held pursuant to Article III, Section B of the Association's Bylaws. A Special General Membership Meeting may be called on at least three

days' notice with the approval of the majority of the Board of Directors and on the existence of an emergency necessitating such a meeting. The existence of an emergency must be approved either (a) by the Association President and one Director or (b) by at least three Directors. A majority of the current Board of Directors has concluded that an emergency exists here in that the election of board members at our annual meeting on September 4, 2018 was not completed due to irregularities and chaos that arose during said meeting. A majority of the Board has also approved the Special General Membership Meeting. The purpose of the October 9, 2018 Special General Membership Meeting is to complete the election of a new Board, including the election of a Board President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Two Directors at Large. The October 9, 2018 meeting will be solely restricted to the election of a new Board."

It was generally agreed by the assembly that the foregoing duly dispensed with Spencer's objection as to insufficiency of notice and agenda.

The vote proceeded, with a clear majority of those present voting to move forward with the Special Meeting.

Ballots were collected from those present and tallied by Charity Sharp.

Mailed ballots were opened by Rich Sharp and tallied by Chris Martinovich.

In tallying, all in-attendance and mailed ballots were verified to be either resident-owners weighted at 2 votes per ballot per property, or non-owner occupant or non-occupying owner, each weighted at 1 vote per ballot per property, pursuant to the HOA By-Laws.

Christy McGrew and Bonnie Hoffecker recorded and verified HOA dues payments to ensure that all inattendance and mailed ballots that were tallied were eligible votes. Pursuant to the By-Laws, votes are eligible only if the members are current on their dues.

Upon completion of the tallying of all eligible votes, Rich Sharp announced the election results for the HOA Fiscal Year October 1, 2018 to September 30, 2019 as follows:

Office of President:
Office of Vice President:
Office of Secretary:
Office of Treasurer:
Director with 3-yr. Term:

Michele Stokes, with 61 votes
Joseph Spencer, with 76 votes
Bonnie Hoffecker, with 76 votes
Dee Ramsey, with 76 votes

Director with 1-yr. Term:

Director with 1-yr. Term:

Jack Sosebee, with 74 votes

Mark De La Torre received 21 votes for the Office of President. Not up for election, Christy McGrew will continue to serve 2 more years of her 3-year term as Director.

Having been designated by Stokes to do so, Stringer adjourned the Special Meeting at 8:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

/s/

Geigy Stringer, Secretary